OCB Scientific Steering Committee

The Ocean Carbon and Biogeochemistry Scientific Steering Committee (OCB-SSC) was formed in February 2006. The OCB-SSC was created jointly by NSF, NASA and NOAA to provide critical leadership to the OCB community by helping to identify research priorities and promote, plan, and coordinate collaborative, multidisciplinary research opportunities in ocean biogeochemistry. SSC members serve a term of three years. Parentheses indicate term end (end of year) for each member.

Andrew Barton (Scripps Inst. Oceanography) (2018) (Early career) - marine ecosystem tipping points, microbial biodiversity, trait-based microbial ecology, climate and marine ecosystems

Matthew Church (U Montana) (2017) (Chair) - microbial oceanography, marine biogeochemistry, ocean time-series

Jessica Cross (NOAA/PMEL) (2019) - Arctic biogeochemistry, ocean acidification, inorganic carbon system

Scott Doney (WHOI) (ex officio) - marine biogeochemical modeling, ocean acidification

Marjorie Friedrichs (VIMS) (2019) - biogeochemistry of estuarine and coastal systems, biophysical modeling

Bethany Jenkins (URI) (2019) (Vice-Chair) - marine microbial genetics and implications for biogeochemical processes in marine ecosystems

Lauren Juranek (OSU) (2018) - dissolved gases, isotope biogeochemistry, marine biological pump, and marine carbon cycle

Michael Lomas (Bigelow) (2017) - biogeochemistry, phytoplankton physiology, marine food webs

Nicole Lovenduski (U Colorado, Boulder) (2017) - modeling and observation of ocean biogeochemistry; polar climate change and its impact on the oceans; global carbon cycle dynamics; global climate modeling

Dennis McGillicuddy (WHOI) (2018) - physical-biological interactions in the open ocean and coastal margins, mesoscale dynamics, biogeochemical cycling, zooplankton population dynamics

Uta Passow (Univ. California, Santa Barbara) (2019) - biological pump, particle dynamics

Anton Post (FAU Harbor Branch) (2018) - biology of algae and its ecology, evolution and genomics

Alyson Santoro (Univ. California, Santa Barbara) (2019) - microbes, nitrogen cycle, molecular (-omics) techniques

Deborah Steinberg (VIMS) (2017) - zooplankton ecology and physiology, coastal and deep-sea food webs, and carbon and nutrient cycling

Benjamin Twining (Bigelow) (2019) - interactions between plankton and trace metals

Angelicque White (OSU) (2017) - bio-optics, phytoplankton physiology, nitrogen fixation, phosphorus cycling, elemental stoichiometry


View OCB SSC Charge and Terms of Reference

View history of OCB SSC membership (2006-present).

View recent SSC minutes - 2015 SSC minutes 2016 SSC minutes (to view SSC minutes prior to 2015, please contact Heather Benway)